1. Mr Grumpy

Mr Grumpy New Member

What does an agent/editor actually do?

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by Mr Grumpy, Apr 8, 2011.

Hello all, got a question that's probably a bit basic to you all but as I'm new to all of this I'm going to ask.

What exactly is the difference between an agent and an editor? I was thinking they might be one and the same, but maybe not now.

I know an agent will look at your MS and if they like what they see they'll represent you (for a fee?) and get your book published - is there more to them than that?

But what does an editor do? Litteraly edit your MS? Will they request you edit it to alter the story? Give you pointers where it falls down etc?

cheers all

2. Trish

Trish Damned if I do and damned if I don't Contributor

An agent is not an editor. An agent is someone who reads your manuscript, likes what he sees, agrees to represent you and then submits it to publishing houses for you and is your "middleman" between the publishing house and you. He will negotiate things that need negotiating, such as the best advance for your book, help you work through issues with cover art, and get you the best opportunity possible. His interest in this is that the more money YOU make, the more money he makes. (This does not in anyway guarantee that just because an agent takes you on he/she'll be able to get you a deal.
    And while an agent MAY offer suggestions about how to edit your story, it should not be expected. Further, you may be highly disappointed if you do all that work and then the editor at the publishing house (providing your agent has been successful in getting you a contract) asks you to change even more, or hates everything the agent had you change.

Editors, unless you're paying for one to do a service for you BEFORE you send out query letters, are the people who tell you what you have to fix to get your book in print once you have a deal in place.