1. AJSmith

AJSmith New Member

Organization

Discussion in 'Research' started by AJSmith, Mar 30, 2011.

Just a quick question...

So, in my everyday life, I'm organized to the point of compulsion. I always say that I'm like this because my mind is so unorganized. I'm a teacher, and there are plenty of unorganized teachers who function fine... I would not be one of them.

Now to the point. So I begin writing this book a couple of years ago (with a couple of very long breaks), and all of my ideas are put down in one word document labeled "background information" or in this notebook I have that is fast filling up with setting sketches, characters, ideas, notes, time lines, etc... in no particular order.

So during one of my frustrated moments, I buy a book on novel writing and read through it. It suggests keeping files, and all of these ways to keep organized during the writing. It talks about story-boarding and other ways to organize. This all makes total sense to me, and in any other aspect of my life, it would be right up my alley. For some reason though, for this, I've simply kept this notebook and one document outside of the actaul manuscript.

I have two questions I guess:

1. Am I doing myself a great disservice by not being fully organized for my writing?

2. In what ways do you all organize yourselves?

2. Thanshin

Thanshin Active Member

No.

Surprisingly enough, writing is strictly about writing.

There are lots of activities that are surrounded by peripheral components that have to be taken into account to achieve anything in the activity itself, but writing is not one.

If you write your best while at the bottom of a pool, with a full scuba suit, writing on a waterproof computer, that's where and how you should write. If your best comes from cumulating a mass of disjointed information and then sublimating that into the final form, go for it.

Don't try to find solutions outside of the act of writing itself.

3. Elgaisma

Elgaisma Contributor Contributor