1. Moneica

Moneica New Member

Short Story The difference in a short story, long story, ect?????

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Moneica, Apr 4, 2014.

Ok,, I've been working on my book as I call it, for the past 8 months. So far I have 24,558 words. And its not even close to being done, not even half. Is there kind of a set stander to what makes something a short story, long story, ect....This is all so new to me, I feel like I need a writers for dummies class. And I really don't know what I should call it. Someone told me the other day, well if you are writing it, you should know.
    And that got me to thinking. Hmm, should I know? Maybe this flying by the seat of my britches I got going on, might not be a good thing. Maybe I need to learn more on the general basics of writing. You know its kind of like I sit down and made a list,

Idea for story, check.
    Program to write it on, check.
    Start writing, check.

and that's as far as my list goes. I have no other clue as to what the hell I'm doing. I sit and read others posts and responses and think, OMG, Moe you are so out of your league here its not even funny. But then that little voice in the back of mind pops out and says, You have to start somewhere, or it will never get done. So maybe if I start with knowing the difference in a short story, long story, ect.. Maybe, just maybe one of these days I can call myself a writer. But as for now, I am calling myself someone who inspires to be a writer!
    hugs to all
    Moe

2. plothog

plothog Contributor Contributor

Length definitions are a little fuzzy and vary depend on who you ask.
    You're over 10,000 words which means you're not writing a short story.
    You're over 20,000 words which means you're not writing a novlette.