1. Niralen

Niralen New Member

Beginnings, such an awful time.

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by Niralen, Mar 2, 2009.

Hi there everyone, how you're all doing fine.

I'm relatively new to the forums, I just joined and then school intervened with more assignments than I can count. Not to mention I'm also rather new at writing itself (having only written for about 1-2 years, most of which is fan fiction)

Anyway, my question is: Does anybody else find it all but impossible to come up with a beginning to a new story? I'm trying to branch out into my own stuff but I'm having great difficulty coming up with the first few sentences. I'm just curious if anyway has any tips for me.

Cheers,
    Michael

2. iolair

iolair Active Member

Do you mean you have trouble thinking of a story, or you have the story in your mind but have trouble deciding how to write it down?

3. HeinleinFan

HeinleinFan Banned

I used to have the same problem. Heck - sometimes I still do. But I've learned that you really only need to have between 3 paragraphs (sometimes really short ones) and a page for your intro if it's a longer work, and a short story can start within two paragraphs. So looking at it that way, I've been able to get over some of my dread of starting a new story.

*** Example ***
    The market was bustling today. Custom and increasingly prohibitive rental costs ensured that the outer stalls sold common but well-made goods, while farther in the merchants hawked mastercraft weapons and pottery from the Lone Island and spices from Hern and Thalos. In the very center of the market plaza were the rarest, most expensive goods -the god-touched magical devices sold by cloth-of-gold robed priestesses, the ripe fruits from Aresi's orchard laid out in piles that glowed with their own light.