1. BruMeister

BruMeister Member

How do you know its done?

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by BruMeister, Jul 28, 2009.

Hello folks, I've been writing this story of mine for the past 6 or 7 years, rewriting and editing. At first it started off as just a thing to pass the time, but now it's become more of a mission. I'm now taking it more seriously because I want to get it published.

However, as I look over my old works, and even what I'm working now, I always see room for improvement. Obviously I'm far from "completion", so this feeling is completely necessary. However, my concern is, that no matter who you are or what you right, SOMETHING can be always "fixed" or "edited". As I am constantly learning how to better my own work, how will I know when its finally done?

2. Gallowglass

Gallowglass Contributor Contributor

When other people don't notice what could be improved ;)

You'll often see things that others won't, so when you feel that you've improved significantly since the last time, read the book as if you didn't write it. If it's almost perfect, you're done. Just a few tweaks that can largely, though not entirely, be ignored.

3. FrankB

FrankB New Member

It's done when you can't stand looking at it anymore.

Then set it aside for a week or two, give it a quick once-over and send it on its rounds.

4. Rei

Rei Contributor Contributor

It's done when revising becomes more of an obsession than contructive work.

5. seta

seta New Member

Just read it and if it conveys the picture you want, then it's done.

6. Primitive

Primitive New Member

Always remember, nothings perfect.

If you try and perfect your peice of writing, it will NEVER get sent away. Simple as.

Id either, print a few copies for a few friends (ones that wont go, oh its the best thing since sliced bread). Or shove it in a draw for three months, than read it and see the real errors in it.