1. Rory Womack

Rory Womack New Member

21st century technology in literature

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by Rory Womack, Dec 22, 2013.

Hi, I'm a young writer and am very taken with all the realism books that have been written and have every intention of writing one myself. However, I have found that 21st century technology, Iphones, the internet, etc, do not have a place in most story lines. The problems they create are immense. Your characters have no good reason not to be able to contact each other, know something, get lost, have frequent human interaction, etc. I think this is a problem for most genres of lit. but if I am trying to write a realism style book in the 21st century they completely crash it. You get what I mean? Does anybody have any ideas on how to work around this problem other than having every character be a technology hating loner?

GingerCoffee likes this.
  2. Evarnae

Evarnae New Member

There's quite a few towns that don't get mobile phone signal or internet, your story could be set in one of these places. You could have some of your characters just be terrible at picking up the phone or answering emails. You could have some of your characters be on 'technology lite' in a kind of rehab from being too obsessed with them before. There could be characters who don't use technology for religious or personal belief reasons. Or you could just set your entire story in somewhere other than a first world country where technology isn't so widely available.

3. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

Hi, welcome to the forum. It's an interesting question but there are many solutions.