1. AllThingsMagical

AllThingsMagical Member

Can't finish what I start

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by AllThingsMagical, Aug 13, 2011.

Does anyone ever spend ages planning out a story idea they've had but then as soon as they're a few chapters into it get bored?

This has just happened to me - again. It's starting to bug me a little that I can't see to finish anything I start. My current work in progress is only two chapters long and is something I've been working on for a few years. But now I've started writing it I'm having doubts about the style and perspective - like I'm wondering if it would be a better story if written in third rather than first person and if the main storyline would be better as a sub-plot so that one of the current sub-plots could take its place.

I think I'll probably end up changing it again but I'm sort of worried as soon as I start working on the newer version I'll get bored and want to change it again. So I was just wondering firstly if anyone else ever has this problem and secondly what you do about it. Anything vaguely helpful would be appreciated. Thanks :)

2. zeal

zeal New Member

What you've described is almost exactly the same problems I have (the first person/third person thing is something I'm currently experiencing). I've started countless amounts of stories but never get past the second or third chapter. I find that when I write a detailed plot outline so I know exactly what to write in each chapter or section of my story, I tend to get "bored" a bit slower, though there have been times when I write just for writing's sake so I can wrap up a story I've lost interest in.

3. JackElliott

JackElliott Senior Member

Sounds like you didn't make good use of your planning time if you're running into elementary problems like this.

Selecting a point of view boils down to how close you wish to be to your character and his thoughts.