1. Ivana

Ivana Senior Member

Challenges of being a foreign writer

Discussion in 'Marketing' started by Ivana, Jan 21, 2015.

Hello everyone!
    I'm a new member here, and I would like to apologize in advance for any grammatical errors I might make, since English is not my native language. As title says, I'm a foreign writer who would like to see her first book published in UK or US. I live in a small and rather poor European country where, unfortunately, publishing industry is almost non-existant. There is no such thing as literary agency over here.
    After 2,5 years of writing, I finally finished my manuscript. The book genre is fantasy, and the theme is universal. I would appreciate any advice on what a new foreign author could expect in a big world out there. :) Besides having to translate my book to English (which is costly and good translators/native speakers are difficult to find over here), what other obstacles could I expect to encounter while trying to get an agent? Will my origin (or my name, which is clearly foreign) be a problem? I can communicate pretty well in English, but far from perfect; thus, is a perfect knowledge of language mandatory when it comes to negotiations with agents and other activities?
    One last question: is it possible to make some sort of sub-agency arrangment with someone who lives in my country, but would be able to find me an agent in UK? If so, what could I expect and what should that person's fee be? Which percentage of each book sold should that sub-agent receive, and how can he be incorporated in the agent-writer Agreement? Any experiences with this?
    Thank you!

andrew smith likes this.
  2. NewEnterprise

NewEnterprise Member

Hey Ivana! :)

I can't help with much of that except to give you my sympathies for having to adapt to English as your medium for getting a story out there!