1. Scot McPhie

Scot McPhie Member

What happened to the thread on video clips for your books?

Discussion in 'Support & Feedback' started by Scot McPhie, Jun 26, 2013.

That was actually a pretty interesting thread - did it get deleted because the opening post was really a thinly veiled ad for his book?

The ensuing discussion however on video trailers for books was pretty good though I thought, and a good topic to discuss -- could it be reinstated without the first ad/post!!

Also on that topic since I'm a newbie here is there a forum where people can spruik about their latest book??

Scot

2. Lemex

Lemex That's Lord Lemex to you. Contributor

It was flagged as an ad and I deleted it. We don't allow advertisements here, I'm sorry.

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

what does 'spruik' mean?

this thread probably belongs down in this section:

you can ask a moderator to move it for you...

4. Michael Shaw

Michael Shaw New Member

Sorry, everyone! I started that thread and as a video advertising my own book was germane to the topic, I included it in the post. It was still advertisement though so that is why the thread got removed. I just found out about this and wish I could have edited it out so the thread would stay up. Is that possible?

Michael

5. Scot McPhie

Scot McPhie Member

Spruik means to talk about or promote -- sorry if I've misspelt it - either that or it's an Australian word.

So anyway I take it talking about our own books is out here? The reason why I ask is that I contribute alot to a film making forum and we're regularly posting clips, talking about and even selling our films there - in amongst all the regular discussions on film making technique and gear. In that context it's actually a pretty constructive thing and regularly sparks discussion on further aspects of film making technique - no one is really getting spammed.

Could it not be done here even if it was just in a sub forum so as to keep the other forums clear?