1. Mckk

Mckk Member Supporter Contributor

Novel How do you keep going?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Mckk, Feb 2, 2012.

I'm working on my first novel - as such, I have no experience whatsoever of how it all works. So, I conceived the idea 6 years ago, resurrected the project at the beginning of 2011. I rewrote the existing 44 pages and started again from p.5, expanded it all the way to 230 pages. Unfortunately due to my lack of planning, a lot of the plots and characters had to be dropped and reworked, causing my now 2nd incomplete "draft" to be more or less redundant. I then spent 3 months planning it from beginning to end and have clear direction and goals for my novel now. I started writing just before last Christmas and am now half way through. (34,000+ words)

And I'm stuck. Not for ideas. I know where it should go. But I've lost all motivation and passion for it. I feel nothing when I read it because I can recite every last line of it. But I fear putting it down and working on something else will cause me to abandon the project altogether, and I wanna finish this. I really do. Just right now, I feel a creeping sense of despair that it's never, ever gonna finish... :(

So how to get out of this despair? And how to rekindle your passion for your novel?

2. TDFuhringer

TDFuhringer Contributor Contributor

Many writers have felt the same way as you Mckk. I abandoned my first four novels before finishing them. If you have lost your passion I would consider that either the story itself is not strong enough to keep you motivated or you've burned out on it because you've worked on it too long. I strongly recommend writing something else, for at least a month. Don't look at your novel, don't look at your notes, pretend it doesn't exist. Then when you're ready, go back to it with fresh eyes and a clear head.

3. joanna

joanna Active Member

If you can recite every last line of it, not reading it again until you cannot do this would be a good idea.