1. UrbanBanshee

UrbanBanshee Member

Character Appearences

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by UrbanBanshee, Feb 2, 2012.

I have very specific images of what my characters look like. Hair style, face shape, eye color, fashion style etc. I'm an artist so part of creating a character for me is drawing a reference picture of what they look like. Not just main characters either, but most of my main cast.

I wondered how about the rest of you out there. How specific do you get about your characters? Even if you never reveal everything do you have an exact image in your mind what they look like? Just your main character if you do or everyone?

2. Jetshroom

Jetshroom Active Member

For me, I have a silhouette of the character in my mind. I've found that I, and other people I talk to, make up our own ideas of what a character looks like anyway, regardless of what the author's description is. Because of this, I try to limit the amount of description I give my character and just let the story unfold. This way, I hope that the reader can put themself into the character's place and not be bogged down in my descriptions of my vision of the character.

In any case I think it's much more important for the character to have a personality, which I do have very clearly in my mind when I'm writing them.

3. Mallory

Mallory Contributor Contributor

I only include a few big-picture details. Hair color, glasses (if they wear them, in which case I also mention the color and style of said glasses), eye color, or whether they're tall or short (only if I envision them as either as opposed to in the middle). Maybe body type, too, but not too many specifics: just a general sense of whether they're thin, fat, curvy, wiry, etc.