1. Jessica Cantell

Jessica Cantell New Member

Should my main character be popular or unpopular?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Jessica Cantell, Jan 11, 2014.

I'm just in the process of planning out my first novel (so I'm very new to this!)
    Basically (this is very brief) The main focus of the story is the diary that this girl writes in. When she was 18 years old, a terrible event happens and everyone is very sympathetic towards her but 10 years on, her diary is discovered containing details about this event that happened 10 years previously informing them that she was the reason for the terrible event happening.. etc.

Anyway, I was just wondering about developing this female character.. do you think I would be better off making her popular, then when the secret is discovered people hate her? Or should I make her unpopular from the start and then in the end when her secret is discovered she falls deeper into depression (or something like that?)

Sorry if I'm making no sense or rambling, as I said I'm new to this and need advice.. thank you :)

2. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

I'm seeing an issue here. "Popularity" is usually associated with a fairly closed society. A person's popularity can completely change when they move from one society to another--from junior high to high school, from high school to college, from college to work, from one workplace to another.

And popular and unpopular are words that have far less meaning in adult life. A person may not have a lot of social friends at work, but that person can seek any number of other circles to find friends. They may or may not seek those friends, and they may or may not find them if they seek them, but all the same, popular and unpopular make more sense as words when you're trapped in a single social circle. For an adult loner, I would choose different words, because the situation would be truly different, even if it's still negative.