1. imsoemo

imsoemo New Member

How to make a Mysterious, Dark, Brooding Man (ideas)?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by imsoemo, Jan 17, 2011.

Hello! I'm an amateur writer and I have *most* of the idea for my next short story/'novela' down, but am all out of ideas for a significant portion.

One key character is a mysterious, dark, brooding man and I don't typically write about his type of character. I guess I need some brainstorming help/inspirations

So I thought it would be a good idea to ask you writers, new and veteran alike, what you would find to be mysterious, dark, seductive, captivating, curious, etc. in a man, but not creepy, cliche or ridiculous. I'm aware that this type of character is very overdone lately, which is why I'm trying to really think him through.

Please emphasize the word *man* because this character is a man, not a boy in high school/college and he's in his late 20's. I'm not looking to remake the Edward Cullen (Twilight) or angsty teenager type.

Here's what I've generally got down so far:
    piercing gaze (maybe?), quiet, appears to be deeply reflecting on something often.
    That's really it...like I said... I usually don't write these characters.

I thought about making him handsome, which would help isolate him (since most people are average) and attract the heroine of the story to him, but that just seemed too...overdone once I thought about it. So should I go to the other extreme and make him ugly/diseased or disfigured-looking instead? Or would average rather do?