Tags:
  1. Youngy

Youngy New Member

Character Descriptions in Scripts

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Youngy, Apr 3, 2010.

Well, I am not sure that this is the right place to post this question, however, I wanted to make sure that I would get an answer so I apologise if this is the wrong place.

My question regards describing characters in scripts. I am about to embark on my first screenplay and I am wondering whether I need to write about my character's physical traits, hair colour, height for example, or does this just get left to the actors that the parts are cast to?
    Also, I was wondering because of political correctness would I be allowed to describe a character as 'black'? I am new to writing so I am not all aware on the rules regarding this.

Thank you for any help you can give :)

2. kinetica

kinetica New Member

In the plays/scripts I've read, they usually describe the cast at the start. For example:

Character 1: [Description here]

Also, I personally (as a reader) wouldn't care if you used "black", but that is just me.

3. tcol4417

tcol4417 Member

as far as I'm aware, comparatively little description is given for characters when writing a script - play or otherwise. Basic background information is given, but other than that it's usually left up to the casting director, costume designer, producer and so on.

Writers get little say in the matter but it's only appearances, so don't obsess over it. You're writing characters, not cardboard cutouts.

4. CalliopeCalls

CalliopeCalls New Member