1. Avrilkiller

Avrilkiller New Member

Any thoughts at all

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Avrilkiller, Dec 24, 2006.

I've begun the very beginning processes for a new book (storyline, ideas, outline)....this is where I have always soured in the past, I have a tendency to write just by starting to write without forethought, and thus I run out of ideas and lose steam a couple chapters in :redface:

I find I'm a good writer, but not so good with thinking of stories and long-plot creativity, so I'm considering collaborating with someone on this.

Anyhow, here's a very small sample of an important scene, without giving up too much of the plot. Any thoughts at all would be appreciated, whether encouraging or not, criticism or kudos.

"America", said Tuner.
    Had the dog actually opened his mouth and spoken his answer, the man's reaction would have been infinitely more comical and resulted in burns from an overturned pot of water. However, Tuner's response was not an audible one, at least not to anyone who might have been within earshot. It was heard only by Emitt, and not through his ears. This is why instead of an uproar in the small kitchen, there was only a stiffening in the man's nerves and a slow, unertain remark in reply.
    "You are from America."

I call him the man because I haven't yet decided for certain on a name....he is elderly, but still quite active and quick thinking. Any suggestions would be welcome, if you have them.
    I also know that one of them will be a more intellectual type, and the other more simple-life/casual speaking, though I haven't decided who will be which. I'm leaning towards the dog as the intellect, though.