1. Melissa Bailey

Melissa Bailey New Member

Check me out!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Melissa Bailey, Sep 14, 2014.

Hey there,
    I'm a writer from Brisbane, Australia. I enjoy creative writing, poetry, writing articles and editing work.
    I'll be joining in the competitions online, looking forward to reading some amazing work!

Melissa

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 14, 2014
    GingerCoffee likes this.
  2. bythegods

bythegods Banned

Ugh! You said a 'bad' word that I hate. We writers ought to know better yet we are continually committing these words crimes.

3. Melissa Bailey

Love to know what has offended you so, I was merely introducing myself

4. KaTrian

KaTrian A foolish little beast. Contributor

Hi Melissa,

Welcome to the forum. Here's our New Member Quick Start Guide to get you started. I'm sorry but I had to remove the links from your post as it's against our rules on advertising.

See you around!

-Kat

5. Melissa Bailey

Thanks Kat!

6. bythegods

bythegods Banned

Dear Melissa, welcome.
    Here, you find a list of words that I hate: https://www.writingforums.org/threads/do-not-use-these-words.134114/
    In my frequent and - unavoidable - interactions with Australians it rose to my attention that Australians are particularly offensive in their use of language. Put simply its their word choice that is bothersome. I just wish we would all think ten seconds before using any of these words on my list.

7. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Your mileage may vary. A heavy hand with a salt shaker can ruin a meal, but used sparingly, that same salt can be just what the dish needs.

While some of those words can make my teeth grind too, I don't agree with jumping on a new member for using one of those words in casual conversation. It's akin to nitpicking a new member's spelling or grammar in the intro thread.

8. Melissa Bailey