1. APAwriter

APAwriter New Member

In-Text Research Question?

Discussion in 'Research' started by APAwriter, Jun 9, 2011.

Hey,

I am writing an APA-style proposal of what will later be the report of my study. (This is my first time doing something so big.) I have some doubts about the actual research question. The research question is currently obvious because of my title. It is also obvious because of the way I typed everything, and made sure it was clear at the end of the paper what my paper will be attempting to prove.

However, I am not sure if I should pose the question straight-up to the reader. I like it more the way it is because I didn't disrupt the flow of the paper. Besides, I am afraid I will look like an amateur stating the question like this:

Should I reinstate the question in question-format or is it okay for it to be in "sentence-format" (...like a thesis statement?)?

I used that question ^ to prove what I am trying to say. I discussed what I was gonna ask, and essentially made the point of the thread clear at the beginning. Is it really necessary to put the question in "question-form" or is it okay (and maybe better) to just make it a statement?

I hope this isn't confusing or novice ( :confused: ) but I am really having trouble deciding on this and my due date is tomorrow.

Any feedback/suggestion/replies are greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
    FrustratedAPA-Writer

2. Mallory

Mallory Contributor Contributor

Could you post a short paragraph, with the sentence/question you're referring to highlighted or bolded, so I can see what you mean? I'd like to help, but I'm confused. (Or if you don't feel comfortable posting a paragraph here publicly, PM me.)

3. cruciFICTION

cruciFICTION Contributor Contributor

Really, I think it sounds like you've got it all figured out. Are you asking, though, whether to pose it as a statement or a question?