1. Jenna_biltz

Jenna_biltz New Member

Short Story Starting a Story

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Jenna_biltz, Dec 10, 2014.

Hello,
    I'm very new to writing and I'm also very young. I like to write short story's but I always have the same problem, How to start the piece! I have recently started on a slightly longer story than normal and I am having lots of trouble finding out how to start it. I have tried many different ways but I just can't seem to make it good. Does anybody have any suggestions on how to get started? What should the first chapter be about? And what should the first sentence be like?
    Thanks!

2. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

I don't think that you need to worry about the exact start until the piece is written. When you're done, you may realize that your real beginning is six pages in, or you may realize that you need to add some material to the beginning. Just pick an early moment in the story and get started.

Tesoro and Renee J like this.
  3. Swiveltaffy

Swiveltaffy Contributor Contributor

To quote a terrible and corny Bruce Dickinson song, "Dive! Dive! Dive!"

4. Mckk

Mckk Member Supporter Contributor

I ditto ChickenFreak. Just write. The opening tends to change quite a bit anyway once you've finished the piece, so it's not worth agonising too much over it in the beginning.

As for the first sentence - opt for easy to read. Opt for something that would convey the tone of the rest of the novel. Don't use an attention grabber for attention grabbing's sake because then your book wouldn't be able to live up to its promise and reader expectations. In the absence of something truly hooking, always go for an easy-to-read sentence. Because if it's easy to read, likely the reader will just keep reading :D But if it's all convoluted, likely the reader will put the book down.