1. Foxe

Foxe Active Member

Command vs creativity of language

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Foxe, Aug 21, 2015.

A few moments ago I was reading the poetry of Robert Frost. I remarked to myself how masterful the command of the English language that these geniuses (other poets, too) possess.

I considered that I, too, have a pretty good command of the English language. I write for a living and for pleasure (though they don't overlap [yet] unfortunately).

It occurred to me that command of the language and creativity with that command are two separate things. Where I can use many interesting words to describe something, the creative use of them to shape language is what sets those brilliant poets apart. They take the English and turn what is a fairly rigid thing in my mind and make it malleable to serve their purpose. I felt a little saddened by my new found shortcomings, but proud to have noticed this slight yet significant difference.

What are your thoughts on command vs creative application of language?

2. Wreybies

Wreybies The Ops Pops Operations Manager Staff Contest Administrator Supporter Contributor

My thought is that it feels related to the particular level at which one wishes to engage communication. No different to the way a reader (or watcher) can engage a book or film at either face value or at different levels of depth for underlying structure, meaning and intent. Command of a language concerns technical proficiency and understanding of the function of the system, its subsystems and so on. Creativity with language is when you manipulate those systems and subsystems to carry information in ways that are new, intriguing, perhaps even befuddling so as to make the person who is engaged question and ponder the why of the writing.

I could also just be talking out of my ass. :ohno: Totally possible. :whistle::-D

RevGeo, peachalulu and minstrel like this.
  3. No-Name Slob

No-Name Slob Contributing Member Supporter Contributor