1. Alex W

Alex W New Member

Now, don't hate me TOO much....

Discussion in 'Writing Software and Hardware' started by Alex W, Jul 16, 2011.

Right, i'm looking into the possibility of buying some of the software that allows you to talk into the speakers of your pc/laptop etc, and writes down your speech.

I've watched a few reviews of such devices and I know they're not foolproof, but i'm a writer by trade and will soon be starting up my own business revolving entirely around written commentary and opinionated articles, (Sports journalist, comes with the territory! lol), and I will have enough time stuck writing then without writing my book too.

Now, I know some writers really dislike them but I don't intend to be constantly huddled over my laptop even in my free time, i'll have enough of it already. Don't get me wrong, I intend to write most of my book, but i'm very good at letting things flow from my head in a constant stream of info, i'm somewhat talented at writing in sync, as it were. Not bragging there, it's just true.

So! I was wondering if anyone had any kind of experience of such software and had any advice on which to look at getting, and also which not to bother with. Any help is much appreciated.

Cheers chaps! :cool:

2. e(g)

e(g) New Member

I don't think I could use one of those for writing. For me, it's the actual writing that seems to make me think of what I need to write. But of course I type pretty fast.

What is writing "in sync?"

3. Alex W

Alex W New Member

I like writing normally of course, I mean I do it for a living, I like to write comedic poems/stories and of course i'm trying to write this book, and I do alot of writing on football forums.

But I just don't want to be stuck at my laptop constantly, I want to be able to go away from it and walk around, letting the ideas flow from my head and go from there.