1. Wolmas

Wolmas New Member

A Question Regarding Quotation Marks

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Wolmas, Sep 10, 2016.

Hello,

I have an embarrassing question. Over the last five weeks I have been working on a story that is getting longer. The story is a third-person narrative. Initially I had conceived a tone to the effect of "Someone reading as though It's a children's story, but with adult themes", except there was no 'actual' person narrating in the story. Recently an idea had occurred to me where the story can be someone - a character in the story - reading the very story, or recounting it, to children in a school. My problem is, I want to be vague about it being someone reading a story within a story, and not reveal it until the end, for plot reasons.

The stumbling block for me has to do with quotation marks. One of my problems is sort of transitioning while holding onto continuity, everything the story teller is saying is in fact the contents of the book, which he's reading to kids - until the final paragrapb at the end, where he’s addressed and thanked for speaking in front of the class. How do I handle the quotation marks? Should I have the beginning of the story in double quotation marks, and the dialogue of the story-within-a-story in single quotation marks, then close the double quotation marks in the end when the story teller is done reading the book? That is one idea, though I am not sure it would be the correct approach. The answer might be right in my brain, but I cannot find it at the moment.

Then there are other conflicts, such as changing certain parts of the story being read to be side comments by the voluntary reader, but I won’t broach that right now.

Thanks and regards,

Thomas

2. Wolmas

Wolmas New Member

In hopes of finding a solution to this stumbling block, I'm going to post an example, though not an excerpt from the story.