1. sophia_esteed

sophia_esteed New Member

Drawing a manga

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by sophia_esteed, Jul 11, 2008.

Hello, everybody.
    I'm posting here because a friend of mine asked me to write the plot for a manga she wishes to draw.
    It's my first attempt in doing so, so I thought I would use as a base a story from manga I read.
    The problem is I do not want for the plot to look too much alike the original.
    So I wished to ask whether using the same theme but varying the plot elements would be considered as stealing others' work?
    Oh, but maybe this isn't the right place to ask.
    If this is the case kindly tell me if I should post this kind of thread elsewhere in the forum.

2. Klee

Klee New Member

No, it wouldn't be stealing his work (I think) but it might end up considerably similar and some people might suspect. My opinion is that you come up with something original, think about what kind of story you would like to draw, do you like supernatural stories? Humorous stories? Maybe some romance? Also consider the ability of your friend to draw, it's kind hard to draw buildings every panel or a large cast.

Or, you could also start by thinking up the character and make the story character-driven instead of plot-driven. What kind of characters do you think would be interesting? What kind of friends would they have? Or enemies? What would their home-life be like? Maybe they have powers? How would those powers affect their life?

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

using a similar theme is fine, but if you use existing characters or major parts of existing plots, it would be plagiarism and definitely illegal... go here for the official rules 'n regs:

www.copyright.gov

characters and names/titles can also be trademark protected, so be sure you don't get in trouble there, either... for info on trademarks:

www.uspto.gov

4. sophia_esteed

sophia_esteed New Member

Thanks!