1. Rain Oxford

Rain Oxford New Member

Cover Art Critique

Discussion in 'Cover Design' started by Rain Oxford, Dec 14, 2014.

This is my first attempt at a book cover for one of my ebooks. Please advise.

Attached Files:

2. Falx Cerebri

Falx Cerebri New Member

It is not bad but It is not great as well. The title is lost and hard to read. The best part about this cover is Its atmosphere, It is mysterious and dark. I would enhance the central aspect of the picture and add do something with the title so It pops up.

3. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

Like the lettering, like the forest, agree the letters are too small.

As for the symbol and the book, choose one or the other, or, combine them into a single object.

Oh, and welcome to the forum if I haven't already said that.

cutecat22 likes this.
  4. A.M.P.

A.M.P. People Buy My Books for the Bio Photo Contributor

Make the book the center piece of the cover.
    Make it bigger to minimize the obvious tree backdrop (It acts like a greenscreen which is detracting)
    Lose the symbol or incorporate it naturally into the title or the book. You could tilt the book forward so we could see the writing and the symbol inside.

GingerCoffee likes this.
  5. Jack Asher

Jack Asher Banned Contributor

No he absolutely could not. I'm trying hard to figure out if you know how image manipulation works.

Last edited: Dec 22, 2014
  6. Gawler

Gawler Senior Member

Australia via Hawaii via Australia via England
    If anything I would simplify the symbol, it looks like a drug crazed psychopath has tried to carve a pentangle and failed miserably.

7. cutecat22

cutecat22 The Strange One Contributor

Larger title in a similar font that's a little easier to read. Also, I think the book looks quite cartoony compared to the background. I think it would look loads better if it was tipped and sat on a stand or lectern. I know this means you might have to find another pic of a book but, just my thoughts.