1. Aled James Taylor

Aled James Taylor Contributor Contributor

Covers

Discussion in 'Cover Design' started by Aled James Taylor, Apr 5, 2014.

Just thought I'd offer my services. As an Design Engineer, producing 3D drawings is what I generally do for a living (as well as drinking coffee) so this sort of image is not difficult at all. If anyone would like something like this for a book cover let me know. If it's simple and interesting it's free.

Half a Glass of Wine.jpg

GingerCoffee and Mckk like this.
  2. Jack Asher

Jack Asher Banned Contributor

Well the shadow of the glass on the table doesn't extend to the base of the glass. It makes the glass look like it's floating. Maybe move the light a little counter clockwise with the glass as the center.

Also, without caustics the whole image looks wrong and the image mapped on the table is too low resolution.

This doesn't look like mental ray, what program did you use to create/render?

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

also...

the title is lost in the background... needs to be more visible...

same for 'by' which should not be capitalized...

name should be all on one line... not spread out like that... and in smaller pt size...

font used is too plain... i'd try several others till one looks 'just right'...

the half-glass is clever, but doesn't show to best advantage as is...

4. peachalulu

peachalulu Member Reviewer Contributor

Clever with the glass! Fonts seem off. I don't know if you can do it but having a purer background ( more light )
    might show off the glass better.

5. David K. Thomasson

David K. Thomasson Senior Member

Very nice image. The type screams amateur. For that part you need a designer.

6. Jack Asher

Who cares about the text, those letters didn't take an hour to render.

Aled James Taylor likes this.
  7. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor