1. ewearne

ewearne New Member

Novel or Screenplay?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by ewearne, Jun 15, 2016.

I have a story I have been planning for a while now, but I am having trouble deciding whether it would be better as a novel or a screenplay? I am studying film at the moment, so part of me thinks screenplay. But I feel like, to get the most out of it I can, a novel would be better? Opinion??

2. Aaron Smith

Aaron Smith Banned Contributor

Why not both?

Oscar Leigh likes this.
  3. Brindy

Brindy Senior Member

I agree, why not write with both in mind. The written story gives greater scope for detail, emotion, character building, but a screen adaptation can then be done.

Oscar Leigh likes this.
  4. Raven484

Raven484 Contributor Contributor

I agree with the above posts. Why not try both if you have the time. Just my opinion, but maybe start with the screenplay, this doesn't require as much detail as a novel and when you finish you actually have a great outline for your story.

Oscar Leigh likes this.
  5. Shadowfax

Shadowfax Contributor Contributor

1/ The wind blew across the Western plains as Cal Highlander drifted slowly towards town. He thought it was a town, anyway. Maybe it was just a couple of old mine buildings, nestling against the low scrub near the base of the hills...

2/ Establishing shot. Lone horseman, outlined against distant hills. Pan in to show his face...

Which do you feel your story is going to be closer to? Do you want to explore Cal's mind in detail, his every thought? Or do you want his actions and words to portray what he's thinking?

To begin with, while you're planning what's going to happen, it doesn't matter. But you may reach a point where you feel the need for a massive gunfight; IMO, it's easier to portray that on film than in writing. Or you may feel the need for Cal to navel-gaze on the meaning of life for a chapter; that's a scene that's going to end on the cutting-room floor!