1. Passero

Passero Member

Creating your own world

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by Passero, Jan 9, 2014.

I am reading a book with tips about creative writing. One of the key points is that you need to write every single day. It has a few exercises or tips to diversify the writing which will help you make progress.

I love that idea and am following this.
    I am a beginner so I just started with this practice to get me up to speed.

Now I was thinking about something...
    I always had the idea of creating my own world and am constantly thinking about that world and making up stories in my mind.

Would it be good if for my daily exercises I just write about that world.
    For example I could describe a character, place.
    Write up some laws of some countries,...
    Maybe I won't use those items in my stories but it will not only help me in my writing, it will also help me in the development of my world as I focus my writing on it.

Would that be a good idea?

2. peachalulu

peachalulu Member Reviewer Contributor

Yes and No.
    It will help your imagination but not necessarily your writing as it's just constant planning - sets of lists, drawings, etc but no story arc, no character growth, no scenes, no conflict. I did this extensively for years but found that when I look back at those years there's little writing just a lot of ideas. Also with world building it's all telling. No showing.

If you want to do this I'd suggest either work on some short stories along side planning your world or put a time limit on building your world.

For me the best writing exercise is to come up with a clever sentence and write a flash piece about it.

jannert likes this.
  3. Passero

Passero Member

I think I haven't explained myself enough.

It's just that I just write about the world as in "work on having a good description".