1. eccentric_m

eccentric_m Member

Creative Writitng Classes

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by eccentric_m, Sep 15, 2007.

Well, I am relatively new to creative writing and I was thinking about signing up for a class. Has anyone been to one? If so, what was it like? Basically, I want to know if its worth it before I sign up.

2. Banzai

Banzai One-time Mod, but on the road to recovery Contributor

I'd say it's down to the individual really. Some people (myself included) learn better with the trial and error of just writing, whereas others learn better in a class environment.

EDIT: Oh, and I've never tried a creative writing class.

3. Domoviye

Domoviye Contributing Member

Proud Canadian. Currently teaching in Nanjing, Chi
    I tried two in high school. The first one wasn't bad. Nothing special. We mostly read some books and wrote a handful of short stories. Easy mark, nothing learned.
    The second was a complete and total debacle. Horrible teacher who wanted to read one type of writing only, and for the Independent Study Project, asked for book reviews, newspaper articles, and the like, no actual stories.

But I've heard some good things about them as well. It basically comes down to the teacher, and your learning style.
    If you like having someone give you a push or help guide you in your learning, a writing class could be good for you. But try to ask former students if they'd recommend it, what type of projects you get and similar questions.

4. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

I took one creative writing class in the first college I attended. This was a freshman course at a technology-oriented university, so the expectations were really not very high, and most of the leadership from the instructors consisted of encouragement to "just ge out there and try it", and strategies for overcoming writer's block.