1. Blade

Blade New Member

Help describing hospital/someone dying

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by Blade, Jan 26, 2013.

Evening, I'm currently thinking about writing a new story and I want to start the story off as a flashback, A flashback to where the main character who is a billionaire is entering the hospital room in which his mother is in, getting ready to die from cancer. I mainly want to capture the emotion and the coldness that he felt in his heart, that would be the only time in his life that he truly cried. His father abused him as a child and only see's him as competition when it comes to their company. So you see his mother is the only one who picked him up when he was down, the only one who truly cared about him.

I honestly wouldn't know where to start without making it seem blah. Some examples would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

2. Michael Collins

Michael Collins Senior Member

I've been working as a nurse for the last three years now, so I could help you with the description of the technical, hospital and physiolocical part. But when it comes to feelngs, I really don't know how I could help, sorry.

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

If you have no idea about how to approach this crucial emotional moment, it may not be the best choice for you to write at this time.

The best such stories are written by people who have gone through similar emotional crises. It gives the story the ring of truth.

Your alternative is to speak with one or more people who have had a family member go through something like this. At length.

4. jazzabel

jazzabel Agent Provocateur Contributor

One thing, was he already a billionaire when his mum was dying? Because rich people usually pay for the nurses, doctors and equipment so their family members can die at home.