1. Stammis

Stammis Banned

Trilogy debut novel (self publish)

Discussion in 'Self-Publishing' started by Stammis, Feb 9, 2016.

I have been writing this novel for more than six months now, and the barebones draft (meaning a lot of scenes and settings was left out) became 100 000 words long; and as I edit the story becomes longer and longer. I believe that the story will have an additional 40 000 words when it is done.

I have read a few threads about the subject of debut trilogy books but they all focus on getting published by an agent. I haven't even nurtured the idea and will not spend valuable time finding one. This will be a self published story no doubt. So what are your thoughts about trilogies, or two part stories from an unknown author when it is published digitally? is there any difference?

As it looks now, it is impossible to end the story half way and let it stand on its own, there will be too many questions unanswered, and the reader will know that the MC will continue his journey.

Also, do you believe it is a better idea to self publish a big book or several shorter ones, meaning around 280 pages each?

Also also, do you believe that I should make the final edit on the entire story or should I finish the first part of the story first and edit the other parts later?

Last edited: Feb 9, 2016
  2. peachalulu

peachalulu Member Reviewer Contributor

This is a hard one. I personally don't buy trilogies - I think I've only read a few. But I have noticed that a lot of self publishers who start trilogies realize that they're not selling as hot as they thought and then don't finish them. Which can really piss off a reader. You're better off doing a stand alone book or writing the trilogy in one shot and releasing them on certain dates to gain reader trust. You want to create the same security a reader has with an actual published book.

If the books don't really stand alone I'd edit them all together.

Stammis, BayView and Cave Troll like this.
  3. BayView