1. Passero

Passero Member

Daily writing

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Passero, Feb 10, 2014.

I really want to get into the habit of writing each day. I've been reading a few tips with exercises but so far I haven't found many that I like.

The only one so far is a website that provides dialogue starters, beginning of sentences, and so on. I use this to start and write about random things.

I also did some freewriting but as you might have read in my previous thread, I don't see much use in that either.

So... I was wondering, is it a good idea to just work on ideas I have?
    I have quite a few ideas in my mind that I would love to work on.
    As a beginner, I know that probably most of that work will not be up to standards but I don't mind. To me, it's more about making my brain think that I'm a writer. Maybe later, when I reread my work, I find some hidden gems...

In short... Is working on short stories a good practice, if you do it on a daily base? Or should I consider exercises?

2. Earthshine

Earthshine Member

I think both are excellent for developing your writing skills. Pretty much any form of writing, whatever it may be, will ultimately help you improve.

Personally I prefer working on short stories over writing exercises, because they force me to not only write, but to consider things like plot and characterization. I often find that with writing exercises the focus is purely on writing well, but not necessarily developing plot and characters. Which can be good, but ultimately I personally prefer working on short stories.

Of course for all I know, you consider plot and characterisation when doing a writing exercise. Still, I hope I was at least a little bit helpful. And whatever you do, I'm sure it will help.

3. xanadu

xanadu Contributing Member Contributor