Tags:
  1. chandler245

chandler245 Banned

Novel dark novel editing issues

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by chandler245, Mar 31, 2009.

Hello, I am some what new at this forum. I am also a novelest type of writer. I am currently editing my own chapters and I don't know if I am doing it right. Is there such a thing of using the same words to many times, giving to much information? Explaining too much in a chapter?

2. SilverRam

SilverRam New Member

Hello, I'm an amateur but let me give you some points to think about.

Your working on a story, so you want it to be beleiveable. You want to suck the writer into the story, make them forget that they are reading a story. Thats what I love in a story.

If you use a memorable words, lets use one of my favorite words as an example, ethereal then your readers will remember a few pages later. It will make them remember they are reading something someone wrote, and flow will be disrupted. Also please don't make it a habit to write in a way that makes the reader have to refer to a dictionary.

Pace is really important to a plot. I can't tell you what is the perfect pace for your story, I don't know your story. And even if I did, I'm too inexperienced.

Be careful with information. Dumping too much information at once can be overwhelming, and sluggish to the reading. Remember a "Her green eyes lit up" during action/dialogue can help with getting information out, and can help lighten that load. On the other side, waiting untill a hundred pages later to mention he has light brown hair, when I've already conjured up a mental image of him with black hair, can really put the brakes to a story for a reader.

There was a really good page on editing that I got alot of help from, but sadly I can't find it. Anyway, someone that knows more about this than me can help you further. Good luck, and practice every day!

3. chandler245

chandler245 Banned