1. Halcyon

Halcyon Contributor Contributor

Capital letter...

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Halcyon, Apr 23, 2011.

Hey guys

Just curious about this one...

I was looking at a company website earlier today, and the company name is deliberately written without a capital letter at the beginning of it, which I'm sure is perfectly permissible.

However... whilst reading the paragraph which described the company, they had worded it so that the company name appeared at the beginning of one of the sentences, and therefore, because the company name has no capital, the sentence began without a capital letter.

Is this ever a technically correct thing to do? :)

2. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

i can't cite a specific rule to cover that, but as an editor, i would certainly ask the writer to reword the sentence so the name didn't come first... or suggest putting it in "" to show that it's not a typo...

3. Pea

Pea super pea!

You could italicize the company name whenever it's mentioned. I've seen some books that do that for anything named such as a ship, company, newspaper name etc.

4. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

No, italics would be used for the title of an artistic work, a book, a movie, or a musical piece. Company titles, country name, geographical features, and the like are not italicized.

I'm with Maia about trying to avoid the situation by rewording. However, the most likely situation it would arise is ad copy. In an advertisement, the company name would probably be rendered in a proprietary font (specified as part of the trademark) anyway, so the grammatical issues would be moot.

5. lameri

lameri New Member