1. Astonix

Astonix New Member

A Prologue.

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Astonix, Jul 10, 2010.

I'm writing my first novelette at the moment but I'm still new to all this so thought I'd ask the more experienced here.

I've got an event, set in the future in relation to the story as my Prologue. Then it's Chapter I where it's at the start, flashback. Is this a proper prologue or should it be made Chapter I, making the current Chapter I into II.

If this isn't the proper way, would a short background story on the races found in my book make a proper prologue.?

Advice appreciated.

2. kogarasumaro143

kogarasumaro143 New Member

Hmmm... Maybe a prologue is not a chapter 1 making chapter 1 into 2... A prologue is somewhat an introduction for your novel before proceeding to chapter 1.

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Don't put in a prologue without a good reason. Providing background is the absolute worst reason for a prologue.

Do you have a good reason for starting your book by giving tour readers a look at the future?

Your first objective at the beginning of a book is to raise questions, not to provide answers. Keeping the readers somewhat off balance is a good thing.

Begin in the story. If you MUST give backstory, make the reader work for it!

4. kogarasumaro143

so you mean cog that having a prologue is not advisable??

5. Cogito

Most stories with prologues would be improved by removing them. There are exceptions.

The advice "kill your darlings" should be followed far more often than it is with respect to prologues. A prologue is, by definition, outside the story. Therefore it almost never truly belongs.

6. Astonix

Astonix New Member

The current event in the prologue was an event which if readers read on, would turn out to be a major twist in the story.

After reading your thoughts I've decided it would be more suitable to make it Chapter 1 and make the current Chapter 1, 2.

7. mammamaia