1. Larry10001

Larry10001 New Member

Getting the story out of my head. Bad Grammar.

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Larry10001, Feb 27, 2011.

This is my first time posting on writingforums.org and my grammar...well lets just say I didn't get A's in English class. So please bear with me.

About 11 years ago I injured my neck. Long story short, because of it I have been unable to work for the past 5 years, and I’m now on Social Security Disability.

Not being able to earn a Living is really starting to get to me, and after having 3 people tell me I should write, I’m giving it a try.

My problem (if you want to call it that) begins with me having complete stories in my mind. I’m not just talking about ideas for stories, I mean complete beginning to end stories. It’s as if I have VOD in my mind. I’m able to get the story out of my mind and on paper (or i guess Pages, I use a Mac), but my grammar, again lets just say, not so good.

My question this: is it unusual for a good writer to have bad grammar? I only ask this because although I was never officially diagnosed with it, in College I was told that I have Dyslexia. It’s not so bad that I can’t write, the problem is that I make stupid basic mistakes such as when I want to write want, I write what, or who somehow becomes how. I also find myself doubling up on words. I can self edit my work several times over and over and never see any of my errors, and I have yet to find a proofreading tool that’s designed for Dyslexia.

So is there anyone how can identify with my struggle? I can’t believe that in the history of all good writers they all had perfect grammar.

2. Mystic_snowfang

Mystic_snowfang New Member

We don't my friend. Write first, get everything down. Then use a spellchecker, ask a friend or family member to read it over. Read it over yourself. That sorta stuff

3. Ellipse

Ellipse Contributor Contributor