1. Spearnymph

Spearnymph New Member

Descriptions

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by Spearnymph, Dec 31, 2008.

How much do you describe in your novel? Personally, as a reader and writer, I like having as many details as possible about something that is sensed and experienced - eg. settings, appearances, actions. I'm curious as to your preferences on this. As a reader, for example, do you like making up the appearance of a character for yourself, or would you rather get it all from the author? As a writer, do you find yourself holding back or striving to paint a picture as meticulously as you can?

I realise this is a rather vague topic, but I'd like to hear your take on descriptions.

2. BillyxRansom

BillyxRansom Active Member

This is one of the hardest things in the entire world for me.
    I tend to lose the focus of the story from trying to figure out how to use an adequate amount of description. I only WISH I could go so far that holding back would be the problem...

3. RIPPA MATE

RIPPA MATE New Member

I think description is based on weather its needed or not, does it help the story or bog it down? In the character department i tend to let the reader form his own image, appearance wise. I try to create vivid images of settings and places in as little description as possible, because that;s my style, i'm not to flowery. In actions and background if etc... i guess i try to main tain a balence between not to wordy/moving the story along.
    Sometimes its quite hard to get the imagery right, practice and review and thinking i suppose.

That's my piece of the curiosity puzzle.

4. SarahN

SarahN New Member