1. poetone

poetone New Member

Determined to improve my writing

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by poetone, Jan 14, 2008.

Hi Everyone,
    I've been eyeing this website, in particularly the forum sections, and I thought I would now take the plunge and become a member. I'll start by divulging a little information about myself, as well as my long term intentions. I have been working in the IT/Web industry for 7 years as a Web Developer, building small and large-scale websites. The work involves lots of coding/writing in HTML, JavaScript, etc. Although I write code, I don't get to exercise my English-writing, communication skills as much as I would like. In the past, I have taken writing courses, which have shown me the nuts and bolts of grammar, style, inner voice, etc, but I feel that once the class is over, I stop writing...

I’m looking for a long-lasting relationship with the “Art of writing”, and I think an online community is a great way to nurture my appetite. It will force me to communicate (by writing, as appose to speaking), which will prompt others to critique my work, while at the same time, protecting my privacy. I’m looking forward to meeting you all. ;)

-Poetone

2. Milady

Milady Active Member

Hi, Poetone. Glad you became a member. The more the merrier.

So you work on websites? I'm considering taking a course or two in programming or writing code, but I'm pretty sure I'd just be way over my head. So you have my respect already. :-D

So, wecome to WF, and I guess I'll see you around.

3. Shinn

Shinn Banned

Hello there and welcome to the forum, Poetone :)

4. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Hello poetone, Welcome to the Writing Forums.

It sounds like you have specific goals and expectations for the site, and I believe that will drive you to success.