Tags:
  1. Hysteria1987

Hysteria1987 New Member

Developing a 'Middle'

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Hysteria1987, Jun 13, 2011.

Hello everyone,

While I’ve always enjoyed writing and typically try to do a bang-up job no matter what I’m working on, it’s only recently that I’ve decided I’d really try for a professional-looking end-product. I guess you could say I’m pretty new to all this then. There’s techniques and tools and so forth that I’m going to have to learn, but before I can do that I’m going to need to learn that they even exist, so... please bear with me for a bit =P

So, after looking through a few things, I’ve come to the conclusion that what I’m after is about both plot and storyline.

So, if I’ve interpreted that right, storyline is like “Billy drove to the shops, then he drove to the video store, and then he was involved in a minor car accident”- a list, in a way. Plot is the why- Billy was motivated to go shopping by a need to buy a birthday present, and so on.

I won’t post my storyline to try keep this short, but if you feel you’d need it then ask away and I can post it. Suffice to say, I have a ‘beginning’ and an ‘end’, and the catalyst that starts everything off. What happens in between the is another matter, and I’ve always had this problem- it crops up on most things I try and write.

I’ve seen it written on here a few times ‘just write’- do you think this would work here, or would the storyline need more development? I feel if I did just write, it’d work for a bit before I’d end up with a group of unrelated events that don’t really contribute to the storyline- it’d end up as a list of events or something. I could be wrong here, though, you guys are the ones with the experience. It’s probably worth noting that I do have a few of these small events already planned, that mostly focus on character development and their changing relationships to each other.