1. sparty

sparty New Member

Question about writing dialogue.

Discussion in 'Dialogue Development' started by sparty, Feb 17, 2015.

Hello, I am a beginner. I read a few articles that I found through google and yet I haven't gotten an answer. The question is this: When writing dialogue, is it best to start a new line every time next person speaks? I have been writing it without it but now I am not really sure what the correct way is. It does look cleaner but it also takes up a huge amount of space and leave a lot of white on the page. All and any suggestion are highly appreciated! Thank you.

2. Shadowfax

Shadowfax Contributor Contributor

"Do I start a new line for each person who speaks?" Asked Sparty.
    "Well, you really start a new paragraph." Said the old-timer. "I guess it looks like a new line."
    "But doesn't that mean you end up with loads of white space on the page?"
    The old-timer took a moment to reflect on this. He pulled out his pipe and began to pack the tobacco into the bowl with his gnarled and tobacco-stained fingers. His eyes seemed to drift away to another place and another time.
    "Old-timer? Are you paying attention?"
    His gaze returned to his youthful interlocutor, and his face cracked into a grin. "Hell, I guess I was away with the fairies for a moment there. What was it you were saying?"
    "About the white space."
    "Oh, yes. The white space. Good thing, white space on a page. Makes it easier on a poor reader than having to see a solid page of words. Besides, you can stick in some description to fill it up a bit. You know, like talk about the kind of chair I'm sitting in, or how the time's getting on and the shadows are growing."
    Sparty stamped her foot. "But that's not what I meant."
    "I know, I know. I was young once, too." The old-timer took another pull on his pipe....

Does this help?

3. sparty

sparty New Member

kind of, can I pm you?

4. Shadowfax

Shadowfax Contributor Contributor

sure

5. jannert