1. Daniel

Daniel I'm sure you've heard the rumors Founder Staff

Diving into the horror genre

Discussion in 'Horror' started by Daniel, Jun 1, 2013.

Recently I had an experienced, followed by some brainstorming, that concluded in me decided I'd like to create a horror movie. Since that's a large feat, rather than starting with a screenplay, I'll likely start by writing a horror novel.

The problem is that I've never written horror before. I suspect it's mostly like writing for any other genre, but it doesn't seem that way. Any advice for someone looking to get into horror writing for the first time?

2. muscle979

muscle979 Member

Read a lot of horror if you haven't already. Steven King of course is the most famous of our generation.

1 person likes this.
  3. sanco

sanco New Member

I don't think writing a novel is any less of a large feat than writing a screenplay.

I think good horror films depend on things like cinematography, tension, performances, sound design and suspending the audience's disbelief. Since a lot of that stuff is out of the writer's hands, the most you could do is try and work all that stuff into the script. To do that you need to understand what scares, intrigues, engages and compels your audience.

As for horror novels, other people on this site would have some better advice for you than I do. Was there anything specific that you needed advice about?

1 person likes this.
  4. Daniel

Daniel I'm sure you've heard the rumors Founder Staff

Of course - not sure why I didn't think of this. Will get right on it. Already a Stephen King fan. Any suggestions on horror writing that is more terrifying? This story needs to be something that really scares the reader/viewer.