1. Syph

Syph New Member

Do plots develop a theme or vice versa?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Syph, Apr 20, 2010.

Can you decide on themes to develop a plot? or should a well written plot develop its own themes?

2. lucifer1101

lucifer1101 New Member

In the book "Writing Fiction For Dummies" it describes that to get a good them
    is to firstly develop a plot and look for a recurring theme and work with it from there..

I am new to the writing scene so I may be wrong on this, in which case a more
    reputable member may be along shortly.

3. arron89

arron89 Banned

It can happen either way around. There are plenty of examples where a writer has set out to write about theme X and developed a story that lets them explore it, and on the other hand there are many novels (probably more, not that that counts for anything) where the author begins with a story or idea for a story and from that a theme becomes apparent as described above.

Personally, I prefer writing and reading stories that use that first method, although if the book is good you can rarely tell which is which.

4. B-Gas

B-Gas New Member

If you plot out your stories before you write them, then the theme will probably make itself known pretty quickly. If you write by the seat of your pants, a theme is useful to steer the story back on track once it inevitably kicks off the rails and goes headlong into a tangent.

5. lucifer1101

lucifer1101 New Member

The different writing descriptions are
    If you didn't know already.

6. Halcyon

Halcyon Contributor Contributor