1. milove

milove New Member

Do you belive speeling determains quality?

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by milove, Jan 30, 2008.

I will start this threed with a story....
    Once when I was a young middle school student, I sat in my beloved English class awaiting the results of my personal naritive. My heart pounded against my rib cage as my teachur placed my essay on my desk slowly. I was astounded. It read D. Waves of shock and self pitty splash on to me. My perfect streek of A's was over.
    Write at the botom of the finnal page, in red crusive, read a note of my teachur. "It was one of the best essays I have ever read, but your hand writing was bad and your spelling was horrid."

I am one of the worse spellers I know and yet I continue to write despite ridcule. Do you belive my spelling habits will chaledge my future occupation? Do you belive that I should "give up"?

PS... I didn't use speel check. I wanted to prove a point.

2. Lawfire

Lawfire Member

Yes, very much so. Right, wrong, or indifferent...poor spelling is often associated with lower intelligence. It's obvious not always the case, but it is something you can work on.

No, but a willingness to learn/change would go a long way.

The point being...you can't spell?

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

If you are writing for yourself alone, spelling doesn't much matter. That may sound like a smartass response, but there are certainly many members who don't care about ever getting published.

But for any serious writing for others to read, spelling is one of the important skills to develop. Spell-checking software helps, but it doesn't protect you from writing hear when mean here, or some where when you mean somewhere. Nor will good spelling alone make good writing.

However, if you do wish to write for others to read, you should work on the spelling. It's not an insurmountable barrier - you can get there if you are determined to do so.