1. cutecat22

cutecat22 The Strange One Contributor

Do You Dress To Write?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by cutecat22, Aug 19, 2014.

Odd question, I know. Do you dress to write?

What I mean, is, well, when you go to work, most companies have either a dress code or a uniform, depending on the job of course. Some people feel that they do their job better when dressed for it. I know when I worked in administration, I always felt I worked better when I wore smart clothes rather than the days when, for whatever reason, I just couldn't be bothered to iron my blouse.

I feel the same when I write. It's the school holidays at the moment and as I work in a school, I've spent the last five weeks at home with my kids. As they are 15 and 12, this means I get lie-ins and then more often than not, my eldest is out with her friends, youngest is on the xbox and hubs is at work leaving me with the freedom to write all day. Or so I thought.

Obviously, there have been family days out but I tend to find that if I have a day lolling in PJ's and not even brushing my hair (eeewww!) then the stuff I write is really rather crap or of a small amount whereas if I get up early, have a shower, bit of breakfast, coffee and dress nicely (not over the top but just something you wouldn't mind being seen in as opposed to jogging pants and a holey t-shirt ...) then I write loads and it's of better quality.

Is it just me?

xx

yagr likes this.
  2. yagr

yagr Senior Member

An excellent question. Yes, most days I do. The exceptions are when an idea has me by the throat and won't let me go to get into the shower.

cutecat22 likes this.
  3. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

I write in whatever I happen to be wearing at that moment. One of these days I'm going to wear a suit and write like a boss.

cutecat22 likes this.
  4. 123456789

123456789 Contributor Contributor

Um, I undress to write.

peachalulu, T.Trian, yagr and 5 others like this.