1. the1

the1 Active Member

Script writing

Discussion in 'Scripts and screenplays' started by the1, Jan 2, 2014.

I sort of understand the difference between a spec script and a shooting script, in the sense that the shooting script includes numbering and small directions for use by the production team. However, I am a little unclear of exactly how a spec script should be formatted.

I have never written a screenplay before however I intend to dabble in that area soon and would like to know the proper etiquette in terms on the formatting. I have searched for a few scripts online and they all seem to be the shooting script which is not completely helpful.

My main question is how should scenes be written in a spec script. I have been told not to include numbering in the spec script so in terms of writing a scene, do I write the whole scene and then move onto the next one? Or to be clearer, say there are two scenes happening simultaneously, and I would like to cut between them. Is it okay to alternate between the two different scenes a number of times (or would this be considered the job of the shooting script?) Am I simply meant to write out the two scenes in their entirety separately?

2. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

unfortunately, spec scripts are hard to impossible to find, but i mentor screenwriters and will be happy to show you examples of specs and help you learn the craft, if you want to email me with your questions...

meanwhile, here are just a few of the basics re a spec script:

format is exactly the same as a shooting or director's script... only difference is the lack of certain technical details:

no scene #s
    no camera directions [e.g. pan/close-up]
    no editing directions [e.g. dissolve/fade to]
    no editing directions that should be left up to the director