1. ThE AnImAtOr

ThE AnImAtOr New Member

New here, I have questions about gearing my story...

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by ThE AnImAtOr, Nov 9, 2006.

I am in process of writing a story. It is a friendship / romance story and eventually I would like to see it hit the shelves. I want you to know that this is the first book I will publish and is probably only my 5th writing in my life. I however was told that I am a good writer and I need to cultivate these skills so I will....

First question... Do I need to gear this writing to the Audiance? Or should it remain as natural as it occured to me? It is a non-fiction story. It is about a girl I helped through a crisis in her life; however, in this story... I never actually MET the person I'm writing about in person. It happened over a 2 year period online. The idea in the story is that I healed her... over a computer... When I met her, her life was in shangles and today it's like speaking to a completely different person... I believe it deserves to be on paper...

Second question... When the story is complete, how exactly do I have it published? Is it possible to publish your own books? If so, how?...

I know these are probably newbie questions but I have to start somewere and I have to start today... Thanks for the recognition...

Also, what are my options for selling this book? I might be an idiot but I always thought publishers also marketed books? If not, how should I start off? In person? If I am in person, how should I come off to sell them?

2. Spherical Time

Spherical Time New Member

No. If the story is good, then your audience will understand it. Unless the story is for children, or for young adults, I don't think you'll need to "write to an audience."

That's certainly what I would recommend.