1. jo spumoni

jo spumoni Active Member

La Jolla, CA (and Mission Viejo, CA, during the su

Really, really stressed...Any tips?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by jo spumoni, Mar 15, 2012.

I have five research papers to write!!!! I have finished one, fully researched another, half-researched the third, and am very, very behind on the other two, one of which is due next week. Basically, I'm dead. I don't know how I'd do this in the best of times, but just to make things harder, I'm studying abroad in Ireland, so the subjects (Irish history, Viking history, and ancient Greece) are unfamiliar to me and on top of everything, I keep getting distracted (which is how I got so behind in the first place). I can't seem to just sit down and study, but even if I could, I'm really not sure this is possible. I have two papers due on Tuesday and I haven't started actually writing either one. I only have a vague idea of what one of them will even be about. I feel so overwhelmed, I'm having trouble getting started, but if I don't start soon, I'm going to end up losing my mind...or failing my classes. Whichever comes first.

So what's the best way to write when you're overwhelmed, stressed out, highly distracted, and have very, very little time?

2. Kaymindless

Kaymindless New Member

I tend to put myself into this position regularly. Step one is to breath so you can calm your body. Then prioritize. Work on the first one due (or two) Outline (pick a topic, randomly if must be,) research, and drink coffee, tea, or whatever your rush of choice is. Key in getting done, once the research is done, turn the internet off and start writing. Take short breaks for food, snacks, etc. I prefer vegetables but it's to wake your mind up when you start getting weary. Once you have what you need done, take a nap/sleep, with enough time given to edit them. May not be your best but it's better than nothing.

3. superpsycho

superpsycho New Member