1. BBolin

BBolin New Member

Novel Getting Distracted

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by BBolin, Feb 26, 2013.

I'm about twenty thousand words into my first novel, and I keep getting new ideas for short stories that are seducing me. Is it a bad idea to take a break from the book and pump out a few thousand words on a new story or two?

2. hippocampus

hippocampus Active Member

I don't see why not. I think a lot of writers on this forum do just that. As for me, I find it too distracting to work on more than one writing project at once. It may be because I'm rather new to the world of writing for pleasure. ;)

3. Youniquee

Youniquee (◡‿◡✿) Contributor

Definitely! You'll still be enjoying yourself, writing an idea you want to write and improving in writing. You'll most likely come back with new ideas for your novel when you finish the short story. And hey, who says it has to be done all at once? You could go back and forth between the two :) Overall, it's up to you. It's always nice to take a break sometimes.

4. Xatron

Xatron New Member

I imposed a rule on myself that states that i can't write a word on my novel for two days from the moment a new idea i like comes to me. As a result i have written 2000 words in a month because i hit 3rd day once. I keep coming up with ideas about characters or settings and after i note them down i go write some writing exercises or short stories to pass the time.

5. Mot

Mot New Member

I get distracted too.
    However, there is one novel I have been working on for about five years. It isn't that the story is particularly difficult, it just got pushed to the very back each time I got a new idea (which included whole other novels).

My advice? If you really want to get it finished, finish it while it's fresh and interesting. If you are writing solely for the pleasure, then go ahead and explore the new ideas.

6. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor