1. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

Can you type without looking?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by GingerCoffee, May 5, 2015.

It pleases me to type without looking. I wondered if anyone else ever did the same just for fun?

My son has a keyboard with no letters on it. That's what made me think about it.

2. VirtuallyRealistic

VirtuallyRealistic Active Member

I can type without looking, but I've been using computers daily since I was 8-10 years old. We had required typing class from 3rd-5th grade. Since then I've had a strong affinity towards computers, spending about 8-10 hours a day on one. Whether that be programming, writing, or just browsing.

I can type at about 90-100 words per minute now.

Lewdog likes this.
  3. Unit7

Unit7 Contributor Contributor

It always amuses me when I become aware of being able to type with out looking. It's one of those small things that just seems absurd and amazing. At least in the first few moments of becoming aware of it. What adds to this is the fact that I doubt I could actually label a keyboard without cheating.

Actually I am on my iphone and realizes for the most part I don't need to look at the keys. Though I guess I am sorta have a glimpse of it. When I first got it I never really thought I would get the hang of typing to this degree.

4. KaTrian

KaTrian A foolish little beast. Contributor

Yeah, I typed this without looking. But I can't type with my phone without looking. I can hardly type with looking. :p

5. ChaosReigns

ChaosReigns Ov The Left Hand Path Contributor

i'm certainly not the fastest person out there, but i can do it. in fact it was because of my writing that i was able to be able to do it at any speed. although having been able to use a computer since i was 3 (which was 18 years ago, damn thats a long time) might have actually helped me. i do make errors and have a sticky space bar but that isn't anything to worry about.

6. jannert