1. Skyes

Skyes Member

Novel Any tips for a perfectionist who can't finish a book?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Skyes, Jan 15, 2015.

First of, sorry for my bad english.

I have been writing this fantasy book for 4 years now, and I am still far from finnishing it.
    It is never good enough for me. I aways keep changing the plot, creating new things, deleting others, adding characters or removing them, etc. I am never satisfied with the book. It is never "perfect" for me.
    And I think this is a really bad thing :(
    I really want this book to be perfect, because he is like a son to me. I have grown immense connection with it, sometimes I can get near to crying when I live some cenes in my head (Yeah, call me crazy lol :( )
    So, I don't want to just finnish it in any random way. I really want to give my best. But I began to realize that if I keep at this rate, I will never finnish it :(
    Any tips, guys? Am I on the right track? What should I do?
    Any opinnion is welcome.
    Thanks in advance! :)

2. Chinspinner

Chinspinner Contributor Contributor

The general consensus of opinion seems to be just to rattle the thing out. Get it finished, regardless of whether there are parts you are unhappy with or sections you want to rewrite. It is only the first draft after all and there will be plenty of editing to come later.

Detailed editing on the fly can essentially be considered abortive work, since your requirements for that section you have worked and reworked endlessly might be entirely different once the book is finished.

Skyes, peachalulu and jannert like this.
  3. lustrousonion

lustrousonion Senior Member

My opinion is to leave it for awhile. Work on other things that you care less about. Get used to the feeling of finishing something, then come back to this one.

First books can be like first loves: passionate but immature. ;)

mg357, KatieValino, Mckk and 3 others like this.
  4. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor