1. hellomoto

hellomoto New Member

Does this make sense?

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by hellomoto, Feb 28, 2009.

Is it appropriate for a the narrator of the story (me - and I'm not gay) to describe a man in the story as an adonis?

Here is the excerpt:

Monday afternoons were the quietest; even so, the large, bulky male dressed merely in black that entered the room intrigued Simon for leastwise a few seconds.

The man slowly walked over to the bench, his beady eyes processing every inch of the room. Simon found this interesting, but he was not curious, sitting, eating -nothing.

Can the red word be replaced by 'adonis'?

2. sweetchaos

sweetchaos New Member

I'm no expert on the topic, but I have seen it done.

Simon, the one who is pressumably the one describing him in his head as an "Adonis" is probably thinking it in either a sarcastic or jealous manner and not in an attracted way. He's sees a buff man walk into the room and knows that most would consider him a 'perfect specimen'. Hence his choice in wording.

I hope that is clear enough. LOL. I'm not quite sure I got my point across.

3. hellomoto

hellomoto New Member

You did :) Thanks!

4. Arrow

Arrow New Member

Uh, hold on a minute. What I got from that brief passage was that it is the narrator who is doing the describing or the "seeing" of the actions. The narrator tells the events--watches Simon watching the male/adonis. Therefore, in my mind, that word choice would be "of the narrator." Unless, i'm missing the POV (completely possible for me!) and unless the word adonis comes from Simon's eyes/head/mouth, then that gaze belongs to the narrator.

5. sweetchaos

sweetchaos New Member

What I got from it was that the narrator was telling what Simon was thinking in that moment. That's how I write my in third person. There's no all seeing narrator. There's just a story being told through the characters and their thoughts.