1. Flashfire07

Flashfire07 Active Member

Help with a romance story

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Flashfire07, Sep 24, 2011.

In my most recent story two male characters (Cody, who is 18, homeless and in frequent trouble with other street denizens and Dan, a 32 year old accountant who is settled down with his partner Neil, who is 28) develop a romantic relationship. Now, I have never tried writing a romance story before and so I would like some advice on developing the relationship. The only concrete details I have are that Cody takes an interest in Dan, Dan is completely oblivious to his intentions, Neil picks up on Cody's interest and lets Dan know, Dan tries to convince Cody to find a partner cloer to his own age, Neil and Dan have a violent confrontation after which Dan drinks a little too much and winds up seeking comfort from Cody. Now, what I would like help with is showing that Cody is interested in Dan subtly, I'm not a very subtle person so I don't know how someone would go about dropping hints that he is interested in another person. Secondly I am actually stuck on where to go after Dan spends the night with Cody. I'd also appreciate general advice and help on this one as I'm struggling to get this story written.

2. Mallory

Mallory Contributor Contributor

Cody might ask Dan for advice a lot, or bring up subjects they're both interested in, but be a bit nervous at the same time. He'd probably come up to Dan and make conversation, again acting just a tad bit too nervous or excited, or if he's shier he might just give him interested looks from across the room.

I'm not subtle either -- my boyfriend and I got together after I told him "you turn me on, we should go out" -- so I'm not an expert at this stuff, but I think the stuff I listed above is how most people drop hints of interest. Fellow readers, if my advice is wrong, feel free to correct me.